Shayne Smith
Wheelchair Rugby Canada National Team Logo

Shayne Smith

#25 Offence

Shayne Smith croit que la vie n’a pas de limites. À l’âge de quatre ans, Shayne a contracté une forme rare de méningite appelée méningococcie septicémie, entraînant des...

  • Date de naissanceJuly 25, 1988
  • VilleToronto, ON
  • ClubToronto Titans
  • Classification2.5
  • Membre depuis2017
Shayne Smith

Biographie

Shayne Smith croit que la vie n’a pas de limites. À l’âge de quatre ans, Shayne a contracté une forme rare de méningite appelée méningococcie septicémie, entraînant des amputations à ses jambes, à sa main gauche et à quelques doigts dans sa main droite. Encouragé et soutenu par sa mère, Jo-Ann, Shayne n’allait pas laisser ce qui lui était arrivé l’empêcher de sortir dans le monde et d’atteindre ses objectifs.

À l’âge de 8 ans, Shayne a commencé à jouer au basketball en fauteuil roulant. Bien qu’il lui faille quatre ans pour marquer son premier panier, Shayne jouera éventuellement pour l’équipe canadienne junior pendant plus de 17 ans. Après avoir pris sa retraite du basketball en fauteuil roulant à l’âge de 25 ans, il s’est retrouvé une nouvelle passion dans le rugby en fauteuil roulant, après une pratique avec Zak Madell, au cours de laquelle les deux joueurs ont échangé des coups durs sur le terrain.

Shayne excellerait dans le sport au cours des années qui suivirent et il finirait par être sélectionné au programme de l’équipe nationale en 2017. De là, il représentera l’Équipe Canada à plusieurs tournois internationaux seniors autour du monde, incluent le Coupe Canada de 2018 et le Championnats du monde 2018.

Faits saillants de sa carrière

  • Médaillé d'argent au Jeux parapanaméricains de 2019 à Lima
  • 6e place à la Championnats du monde de 2018
  • 4e place à la Coupe Canada de 2018
  • Médaillé d'argent au Championnat des Amériques 2017

Galerie de photos

CAN 48
V
Suisse 46
Rugbymania 2019 Match de 9e place
CAN 45
V
Red Lions 59
Rugbymania 2019 Group B - Round Robin

Shayne Smith
Wheelchair Rugby Canada National Team Logo

Shayne Smith

#25 Offence

Shayne Smith is a firm believer that life has no limits. At the young age of four, Shayne contracted a rare form of meningitis called meningococcal septicemia, resulting...

  • Birth DateJuly 25, 1988
  • HometownToronto, ON
  • ClubToronto Titans
  • Classification2.5
  • Member Since2017
Shayne Smith

Biography

Shayne Smith is a firm believer that life has no limits. At the young age of four, Shayne contracted a rare form of meningitis called meningococcal septicemia, resulting in amputations to his legs, left hand, and some fingers in his right hand. Encouraged and supported by his mother, Jo-Ann, Shayne was not going to let what happened to him prevent him from going out in the world and achieving his goals.

At the age of 8, Shayne began to play wheelchair basketball. Though it would take him four years to score his first basket, Shayne would ultimately go on to play for the Canadian Junior Team for over 17 years. After retiring from wheelchair basketball at the age of 25, he found himself a new passion in wheelchair rugby, following a practice session with Zak Madell, in which the two exchanged hard hits on the court.

Shayne would excel at the sport, in the years that followed and it would eventually result in him being selected to the National Team Program in 2017. From there, he would go on to represent Canada at several senior international tournaments, most notably, the 2018 Canada Cup. Shayne is now poised to represent Canada at the upcoming World Championships in Sydney, Australia.

Career Highlights

  • Finished in 4th place at the 2018 Canada Cup
  • Silver medalist at the 2017 Americas Championship

Media Gallery

CAN 46
V
Red Lions 50
Rugbymania 2018 Bronze
CAN 46
V
FRA 49
Rugbymania 2018 Semifinal