Erika Schmutz
Wheelchair Rugby Canada Legacy Athlete Logo

Erika Schmutz

#4 Offence

Erika Schmutz est une ancienne joueuse canadienne de rugby en fauteuil roulant et ingénieure en électricité. Elle a remporté une médaille de bronze avec l’équipe canadienne aux Jeux...

  • Date de naissanceFebruary 21, 1973
  • VilleWindsor, ON
  • Classification1.5
  • Membre depuis2002
  • Retired2012
Erika Schmutz

Biographie

Erika Schmutz est une ancienne joueuse canadienne de rugby en fauteuil roulant et ingénieure en électricité. Elle a remporté une médaille de bronze avec l’équipe canadienne aux Jeux paralympiques d’été de 2008, devenant ainsi la première femme à marquer un essai dans un match paralympique de rugby en fauteuil roulant.

Erika Schmutz est née et a grandi à Windsor, en Ontario, et a fréquenté le Kennedy Collegiate et le St. Clair College, où elle a participé aux compétitions d’athlétisme et de cross-country de la OFSAA.

Après s’être blessée aux bras et à la colonne vertébrale dans un accident de voiture en 2000, Erika Schmutz a rejoint l’équipe nationale canadienne de rugby en fauteuil roulant, devenant ainsi la troisième athlète féminine à y être sélectionnée. Avant son accident, Erika Schmutz travaillait comme ingénieure en électricité pour la firme Hydro Ontario. Après s’être qualifiée pour les Jeux paralympiques d’été de 2008, Erika Schmutz est devenue la première femme à marquer un essai lors d’une compétition paralympique de rugby en fauteuil roulant, et le Canada a remporté la médaille de bronze. Elle était également la seule femme à jouer professionnellement au rugby en fauteuil roulant à un niveau national dans le monde entier.

En 2010, Erika Schmutz a été nommée meilleure athlète féminine ayant un handicap lors des Prix sportifs de l’Ontario.

Elle a ensuite été nommée remplaçante pour les Jeux paralympiques d’été de 2012, au cas où une autre joueuse serait trop blessée pour participer. Deux ans plus tard, Erika Schmutz a été élue au conseil d’administration du ON Para Network en tant que représentante du rugby en fauteuil roulant et a finalement été nommée au conseil d’administration de Rugby en fauteuil roulant Canada.

She was later named an alternate for the 2012 Summer Paralympics, if another player became too injured to play. Two years later, Schmutz was elected to the Board of Directors for the ON Para Network as the Wheelchair Rugby Representative, and was eventually named to Wheelchair Rugby Canada’s Board of Directors.

Faits saillants de sa carrière

  • 2008 - Médaillée de bronze aux Jeux paralympiques de Pékin

Galerie de photos

GBR 52
V
CAN 54
Tournoi des Quatre Nations Finale - 2OT
DEU 48
V
CAN 53
Tournoi des Quatre Nations Demi-finale

Erika Schmutz
Wheelchair Rugby Canada Legacy Athlete Logo

Erika Schmutz

#4 Offence

Erika Schmutz is a Canadian former Wheelchair rugby player and power engineer. She won a bronze medal with Team Canada in the 2008 Summer Paralympics, becoming the first...

  • Birth DateFebruary 21, 1973
  • HometownWindsor, ON
  • Classification1.5
  • Member Since2002
  • Retired2012
Erika Schmutz

Biography

Erika Schmutz is a Canadian former Wheelchair rugby player and power engineer. She won a bronze medal with Team Canada in the 2008 Summer Paralympics, becoming the first woman to score a try in a Paralympic wheelchair rugby match.

Schmutz was born and raised in Windsor, Ontario, and attended Kennedy Collegiate and St. Clair College, where she competed in OFSAA track and cross-country.

After injuring her arms and spine in a car accident in 2000, Schmutz joined the Canadian national wheelchair rugby team, becoming the third female athlete to ever be selected. Before her accident, Schmutz worked as a power engineer at Ontario Hydro. After qualifying for the 2008 Summer Paralympics, Schmutz became the first woman to score during a Paralympic wheelchair rugby competition as Canada went on to win a bronze medal. She was also the only woman playing wheelchair rugby professionally at a national level worldwide.

In 2010, Schmutz was named a top female athlete with a disability at the Ontario Sports Awards.

She was later named an alternate for the 2012 Summer Paralympics, if another player became too injured to play. Two years later, Schmutz was elected to the Board of Directors for the ON Para Network as the Wheelchair Rugby Representative, and was eventually named to Wheelchair Rugby Canada’s Board of Directors.

Career Highlights

  • 2008 Beijing Paralympic Games Bronze Medal

Media Gallery

FRA 48
V
CAN 60
2022 WWR World Championship 5/6 Placement Match
NZL 49
V
CAN 60
2022 WWR World Championship Placement Match